waxing on

Well yes, it all started with a workshop with Nicki Stewart in preparation for the Fibre Arts New Zealand annual even in Whanganui last week ( and before it’s fully booked, check out the offerings for 2017).  I was pretty much hooked by the possibilities of working with encaustic medium when we were shown a canvas vessel she’d made . . . more and more, for now at least, I’m thinking that two-dimensional work is not me unless it’s heavily textured so I was immediately smitten.

Nicki taught us a whole raft of techniques that we then put into practise . . . it was a wonderful weekend workshop which I highly recommend.  I was really pleased with this piece at the time.

Encaustic on customwood substrate. Wendy @ Late Start Studio

Encaustic on custom wood substrate.
Wendy @ Late Start Studio

But Whanganui! Peta Lloyd turned out to be not only a terrific teacher but, more important to me, a great facilitator.  She reads the needs of the students and helps them meet those needs.  I did one little 2D piece and that was it . . . for me, it just wasn’t happening until I broke out and followed my impulse to stitch and make objects that didn’t lie flat.

Stitched Sample Book: Paper, fabric, cotton and linen thread, wire, wax. Wendy @ Late Start Studio

Stitched Sample Book: Paper, fabric, cotton and linen thread, wire, wax. Each panel, 11 x 19 cm.  When closed, pages open from alternate sides.
Wendy @ Late Start Studio

Pod: wire, plaster, wax, oil paints. Wendy @ Late Start Studio

Pod: wire, plaster, wax, oil paints. 17 x 10 cm
Wendy @ Late Start Studio

Small Pouch: Canvas, waxed cotton thread, wax, 13.5 x 8.5 cms. Wendy @ Late Start Studio

Small Pouch: Canvas, waxed cotton thread, wax, 13.5 x 8.5 cm. 
Wendy @ Late Start Studio

Outisde the box: paper, thread, wax, wire. Wendy @ Late Start Studio

Escaping the Box: paper, thread, wax, wire. Overall, 14 x 36 cm.
Wendy @ Late Start Studio

A fabulous week . . . I have ideas for developing each of the samples above so now all I need to do is maintain the momentum!

 

 

21 thoughts on “waxing on

    • Thanks Debbie. Maybe with textiles it might be more difficult unless the weaving becomes more basket-like or has a frame . . . certainly you Rotorua series had lovely textures . . . maybe that’s a start?

  1. Oh so lovely! I wouldnt mind giving it a go some time, I know somebody who knows just in the same village I live… And I agree, 3 dimensional is more me too! Keep up your exciting work.

    • Thanks Arlee . . . it’s surprising how strong it is . . . I must make another with a little decoration. There’s so much I want to do which slows me down . . . I feel like a possum caught in the headlights.

Leave a Reply

