excitement . . . and a little fear

The portfolio was accepted and so next year I will be a student again working towards a Diploma in Art and Creativity.  Great excitement of course but with any step into the unknown there is always a degree of fear . . . a little trepidation is possibly a good thing though because senses are heightened.  I’ll be more observant for a start!

Last weekend I took a two-day life drawing class which was a new thing for me.  I needed to send 3 drawings as part of my portfolio and realised how little I draw . . . doodle, diagrams yes but not drawing.  I had no idea what to expect, had last minute qualms but turned up anyway.  Isn’t that the point?  Turn up and participate!

The end of Day 1. Charcoal, pastels Wendy @ Late Start Studio

The end of Day 1. Charcoal, pastels
Wendy @ Late Start Studio

It’s far from finished and it’s not great but then again, it’s not bad and I’m very happy with it.  I’ve been through the “what don’t I like about it, what do I like, what do I need to do next” routine and came out feeling positive about something that, initially, I thought wouldn’t be what I would focus on next year – at all!    Minds can be changed, fears confronted and learning begin.

11 thoughts on “excitement . . . and a little fear

  1. one of the best ways to get the line working true is to do a few sessions of life modelling yourself, you become the line and also find out how difficult it can be too hold a 5 minute pose, let alone the ones that go for hours and take weeks
    PS I worked as an artist model in the 70’s and still work for artist friends privately

    • The model was great . . . very experienced. He was able to hold a pose for a good 20 – 30 minutes but I’m sure I’d be pushing it to hold a pose for even 5. I would love to find a local group hence my hint to Gill Allen.

  2. Congratulations to you. I am certain you will enjoy the course and new learning is great for the brain and soul. The drawing is pretty darn good.

  3. How wonderful Wendy. You will love it! So glad you will be exercising all that great talent and creativity. I am watching this space!

  4. Congratulations, that sounds great. Being a student again – what a chance. And your drawing is very good. I did some over twenty years ago and loved the 5 min sketches to loosen the lines.
    Doris

Leave a Reply

