another book

I wanted to return to my son some of the gift he has given me . . . images of my grandhearts taken over the last four and a half years I’ve been back in New Zealand.

The album has a dyed calico backing, a paint-stained baby wipe, embroidery and a few washers.  The pages are tea stained paper bound with coptic stitch so it will lie flat when open.

Adam's Album

Adam’s Album

The baby wipe was stained from wiping off paint or cleaning up bits of acrylic paint as I worked in a journal or monoprinting papers. If you smooth them out a bit when they’re still damp with paint, they dry quite soft. You can also work them in your hands a little so they’re even softer. They aren’t hard-wearing of course and the pattern is quite random which dictated where the stitching went.

I save stuff just in case it comes in handy . . . I have several more.

9 thoughts on “another book

  1. Super cool! He will love it I’m sure. I save stuff too all the time. So much so that I think I will not buy anything new (which tend to do all the time too) until I use up a whole bunch of stuff!

  2. Nice use of baby wipes! I read somewhere recently about harvesting images, and it certainly pays to go back through old sketchbooks to see what grabbed you at the time.
    Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

