moving on to the past . . . in a new way

A departure to a past love, thanks to Karen Ruane‘s online course Swathed in Stitch and my imagination.

Machine and hand embroidery set in a puka leaf.

Machine and hand embroidery set in a puka leaf.   The leaf measures 28 cms or 11 inches in length.

Because I regarded the setting as an experiment and temporary, I didn’t treat the leaf in any way.

 

A change in colour after a few days.

A change in colour after a few days.  I like it more each day.

At this point I decided the setting might be permanent . . . or somewhere between temporary and permanent.  I coated the top with Mod Podge and as much of the reverse as I could reach without touching the fabric.

Machine and hand embroidery detail.

Machine and hand embroidery detail.

I am now eyeing up the puka and looking at the few yellowing leaves.

4 thoughts on “moving on to the past . . . in a new way

Leave a Reply

