a handmade journal

Now that Christmas is over and the new year well and truly begun I can show you the journal I made for my daughter.    For obvious reasons I couldn’t show it before but now . . . here it is!  And very pleased with it I was too as I entrusted it to the New Zealand and Australian postal services.

Paint applied to calico with a roller, embellished with stitching, washers and beads.

Paint applied to calico with a roller, embellished with stitching, washers and beads. Bound with waxed hemp thread.

Interior page with commercial paper strip sewn on.

Interior page with commercial paper strip sewn on.

Interior pockets with tags and single page signature sewn on

Interior pockets with tags and single page signature sewn on

Small page insert with tab.

Small page insert with tab.

I really enjoyed making the cover, just stitching, embellishing and letting one addition dictate what would happen next.  And while my bullion stitch bridges are a little wonky . . . I’m rather pleased with them.  No doubt I shall improve with practise now that Karen Ruane‘s course Swathed in Stitch has begun . . . I would imagine it isn’t too late to join in and I heartily recommend it.

Most importantly, my daughter was impressed with her present!

15 thoughts on “a handmade journal

  1. What a beautiful journal! Love these pockets and how you are stiching on the paper.
    And just read your “about”. Yes the time of the harvest in a way … I´m grateful for this.
    Doris

    • Thank you Doris, learning to play again is a lot of fun. When I visited your blog I saw that, like me, you also like to work at many crafts including bookbinding and some of your photography is really beautiful!

      • o you are a lucky one! Have fun with your friends. Discovering Jude Hills Blog and her classes changed a lot for me in the last years. New ideas, new aspects and new friends. Thank you for liking my white magic cloth, Wendy.
        Doris

  2. the book is beautiful Wendy, you have made some fabulous marks on the pages. Now then, I order you to stitch 50 bullion knots now. Practice makes perfect!!

  3. Its absolutely divine, I sort of don’t want to mess it up (like the other wee book mum sent me) – but I do need one place to doodle instead of everywhere !

    • It will be great as a doodle receptacle . . . and books can’t be messed up, some of mine have pages I didn’t like glued together while other pages simply got painted over so I could start again.

Leave a Reply

