time is of the essence

This morning I was reading a post on Diana Trout’s blog about Golden sending her nine of their new QoR watercolors.  She also talks about her recovery from her first eye surgery . . . it must be a very fraught time for an artist!

Any way, I started rabbiting on in the comments that I’d like Golden to send some paints to me as well but a little voice says “Don’t you think you should use some of the paint you have first?” And I agree, but I can’t sew,

More mended knees for Meg

More mended knees for Meg

and weave,

Dyed harakeke container

Dyed harakeke container

OC Detail

Detail of shredded harakeke, dyed flowers, beads and silver crimps.

and make thingies (very technical term that) out of shells and rocks

A beginning . . .

A beginning . . .

A shell mandala . . . a temporary sculpture, unfinished.

A shell mandala . . . a temporary sculpture, unfinished.

Centrepiece, prior to decorating with pearls and crimps.

Centrepiece, prior to decorating with pearls and crimps.

Plus small green pearls and silver crimps.

Plus small green pearls and silver crimps.

IMG_2580

A beach is to walk on.

and plant some veg and walk on the beach, AND paint . . . something’s gotta give!

Remember when I bemoaned a lack of time because of the day-job? Now that I am gainfully unemployed, it’s got worse, not better!  I shall simply have to rise earlier because Baby, as a fully fledged, pioneer Creative Leisure Consultant, I have plans!  LOTS of plans starting with sorting out all my travel photos, from the quirky,

Taken at the end of my street in Tokyo. Dispensing machines for anything and everything are everywhere but the advertising on this one got me every time I walked past it.  Smoke and you'll turn into a muscled westerner?

Taken at the end of my street in Tokyo. Dispensing machines for anything and everything are everywhere but the advertising on this one got me every time I walked past it. Smoke and you’ll turn into a muscled westerner?

. . . to everything else.

Children of the Mekong

Children of the Mekong

6 thoughts on “time is of the essence

  1. Love seeing all your creative pieces, Wendy. And the last picture brought back vivid memories of our two days on the “slow boat” down (or is it up?) the Mekong! Kathy

  2. Wendy, I love that you are fully immersed in your creative leisure consultant role. With all the time in the world, time remains “of the essence” to help us focus. I loose track of that wisdom when something catches my attention and I go off in yet another new direction. I want to focus but I also “want to have (and do) it all!” Good luck with the photo organization … that remains a mystery for me. Do you organize chronologically, by event, by people, by location … oh my .. the possibilities are endless. I’ll be interested to see what you do.

    • Part of what I love about the CLC life is being able to go off in yet another new direction AND having time to maintain other interests . . . it’s just that there is a whole lifetime of interests to maintain!
      As for the photos, I have thousands, all chronological, I need to be able to find the ones I want easily. I’ll be interested to see what I do as well!

Leave a Reply

