weaving up a . . . what?

I rather like the idea of making objects that are functional, it’s a hang up from childhood when the refrain of “make yourself useful” or “do something useful” was etched into my brain.  I also like to make gifts so when it came to my daughter-in-law’s brithday I decided to use my developing skills to make a basket that could be used for storing some firewood . . . that was the intention.

Some how it tunrned out to be a lot bigger than I intended, more like a laundry basket perhaps.Image

It’s about 75 cms or 30 inches high and made from untreated flax so as it dries it will shrink and turn a brownish gold (I think).

Although it didn’t turn out at all as I intended, due to my ‘developing’ skills, i.e. I did’t really know what I was doing but went ahead and did it anyway just like always.

Yo loved it.

8 thoughts on “weaving up a . . . what?

  1. Very interesting piece. It always is interesting to follow your art adventures!

    Will you be able to Skype sometime soon? Our time zones make it difficult except on weekends, and I will be away the next two weekends – going to spend a week in Washington, C.C. with Francine.I get back May 17. Could we Skype sometime the weekend of May 24-25?

    Kathy

    Dr. Kathleen J. Revelle

    “Our prime purpose in this life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them.” Dalai Lama

  2. Thank you so much for the invite to participate Wendy! It’s always great to see what you have been up to. Those questions really are difficult – i’m having a time answering them myself!
    You blow me away with the breadth of your creativity – you create so many different things. Your weaving and sculptures take my breath away. Your lovely whimsical postcards bring a smile to my face :). Thanks for sharing a bit of yourself in your blog! You’re amazing!
    Love, Violette

Leave a Reply

