good intentions

On Diana Trout’s blog last Friday I wrote “Today is the last day of the school term, 2 weeks holiday just around the corner (although like most educationalists I’ll have work to do . . . bugger!) and I am determined to pick up AND USE brushed and pens EVERY DAY! YES!!! You heard it here first. And I will POST every day . . . except maybe when the darlings are here. :)”  I missed on the very first day!   It’s not that I didn’t have some playtime, it that by 11:00 pm I didn’t feel like posting anything.     Yes, good intentions, that’s me.

My day started when I was jolted out of a book by a thump on my house . . . I leapt out of bed to find a dead tui on the deck.    These native birds are beautiful, and have a distinctive sound as they chortle, click, whistle and sing in the trees nearby and I was upset to find that one had tried flying though my house instead of over or around.   I guess with big glass doors on both sides . . . this is the third bird and they’re getting bigger and I’m wondering what will be next.  We have big black-backed gulls aplenty, the odd pheasant hiding in the sand dunes.   Just as long as there’s not an albatross blown in by the storm that’s heading this way!

Tui R.I.P.

The plumage is beautiful, glossy black, gleaning with blues and greens and that little tuft of white on their throats.   It seemed unreasonable to just bury it in my garden so I rang the Maori language university,  Te Wānanga o Raukawa.  My guess is that some Maori weavers will make use of the feathers – I hope so.

Oh my goodness, two entries in a row where a pointless death is featured so just to let you know that play took over for the rest of the day, here are some backgrounds made with homemade stencils (cut out of acetate).

Homemade stencils

I used 2 A4 sheets of acetate and cut the shapes freehand . . .

Homemade stencil 2

IMG_0395

Chalk pastel overlaid with gesso

The trouble is, I get to this point and I’m not sure where to go next . . . I tend to just lay it aside for later and sometimes ‘later’ is a long time away.  For instance, this was a very early background that I just haven’t done anything with . . . yet.

Ah well,  maybe today it’ll speak to me.  I need to loosen up more and not expect to have a final image in my head . . . to just see where it will go if I make some random marks.

4 thoughts on “good intentions

  1. I have so many pages that wait for AGES to be finished, but then all of a sudden I see the next step and they are done.

    We had a dead Tui a while ago and I didn’t think about contacting weavers. I should have been a bit more on to it, but I was just gutted that it had died on our doorstep. If there is a next time (an hopefully there isn’t) I will contact the local marae. Good thinking batman.

    Do you make your own inks, or do you buy them? I just have homemade ones (and I am not a huge fan really), but I am very tempted by the vibrant dylusions.

    • Hi Natasha, would you believe the inks, actually dyes, are ones that I rescued from being thrown out at a school? They’re about 25 years old and have been sitting gathering dust in a shoe box in the shed. Remember doing crayon and dye pictures at school? Well these are the dyes you would have used and unfortunately they’re not much good for anything else so I’m thinking of buying some decent ones as well.

  2. Good intentions indeed. Procrastination and good intentions were succumbed by activity for me today. Flu ridden but determined not to mope about with my head hung low I busied myself decluttering my lounge – I succeeded but much of the clutter was shifted to a room I hope to declutter tomorrow will that be a good intention I wonder? The colours of your art work have lifted my mood for that I thank you x

Leave a Reply

