a hero

“If you’re not prepared to be wrong, You’ll never come up with anything original”

Sir Ken Robinson

I listen carefully to anything that Sir Ken Robinson has to say whether it is a talk from RSA Animates (stimulating talks often accompanied by the sped-up work of an artist mapping the talk and fascinating to watch just for this alone)  or on TED.com (Technology, Entertainment and Design).

It is well worth the 11 minutes and 41 seconds to listen to Changing Education Paradigms: the blurb on You Tube says, “this animate was adapted from a talk given at the RSA by Sir Ken Robinson, world-renowned education and creativity expert and recipient of the RSA’s Benjamin Franklin award.”

Now I definitely wasn’t the product of an ideal system in the ’50s and ’60s however I think, as an educator, that I strive for the changes desired.

On TED.com there are several talks by Sir Ken however one of my favourites would have to be where he says that Schools Kill Creativity, with 10,704,880 views I think you might there are a lot of people who would agree that it’s worth 20 minutes of your time.

This is just a little insight to what I consider important.  Now, off to work to see if I can make a creative difference.

7 thoughts on “a hero

  1. I definitely think schools can kill creativity but they don’t have to. I am a retired educator who fought hard to help teachers and their students find and celebrate the creativity they all had within them. Now that I am retired, I am on my own creative journey. It’s been fun but I still have that desire to share what I am learning with others.

    I am sure you are making a creative difference each and every day!

    • Hi Ginny – I agree with you, they don’t have to. Early in my training I read a book called Teaching as a Subversive Activity, Postman and Weingartner, and it made a significant impact on my already alternative view of traditional methodology. There are indeed some fantastic educators out there.

  2. I’m not a teacher though I’ve “moonlighted” as one for a while to help out. I’ve seen many great teachers out there who are hampered by the system and I’m amazed at what they are able to create with the kids given the structure they have to work within. Those TED talks are great. I’ve just recently started watching them. I’ve never heard of the RSA Animates though. I’ll have to check those out.

    • Hi Leah, I put a link to RSA Aminates’ YouTube channel – so much interesting, thought-rpovoking material there. And yes, What goes on in a committed, creative classroom’s teacher is truly wonderful.

  3. Thanks for the reference to this. I teach graduate students and they definitely need a dose of creativity. Their jobs have sucked all their creativity out of them. My job is to try and add doses of it (creative thinking, ideas, and inspiration) back in.

  4. I am living in Barbados and the English school system although is academically excellent is creatively poor. It is all about group following here, anyone different is ostracised. I saw the interview, homeschooling is probably one of the most organic approaches to schooling. Creativity and individuality is something to be cherished not extinguished, you know? I had a lot of creativity growing up, private schools and art classes, met Judy Chicago as a teenager. I can’t imagine a child living without it….Love TED videos, thanks for sharing that one…The Elisabeth Gilbert is excellent to, she talks about the creative process.

    • Thank you Lisa – I worked in an international schools in Bangkok and in Tokyo – both managed a high academic as well as a great arts programme. I agree about home-schooling though – I have a friend who now home-schools her kids and what they have achieved is fantastic – they are 2 truly unique individuals.

      I hadn’t heard of Judy Chicago and looked her up – thanks! Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

