an award!

Oh those job interviews – I missed out on the position I wanted however I got a temporary one with some wonderful people so all is not lost.  Ah, there I was, feeling a little discouraged so I visited a few blogs that give me a lift.  The first one up was Quinn McDonald over at Quinn Creative and there was my name and blog, nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award – and to be nominated means you’re a winner!  I’ve followed Quinn’s blog for a while now and find her to be a really savvy, down-to-earth writer and artist – always encouraging people to take that next step.

This is my first blogger award (I’m not discounting that I may get more – how’s that for confidence?) and I’m really excited as I have only been blogging a couple of weeks – this is my 11th post.  I’m grateful to Quinn’s encouragement and to The Versatile Blogger!

Here are the rules:

If you are nominated, you’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger award.

  • Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
  • Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy.
  • Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
  • Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.
  • Finally, list 7 things about yourself.

Here are my nominations – part of the fun here is discovering new blogs to love!

  1. Diana Trout – check out her YouTube Channel, it’s full of wonderful ideas and I love her book Journal Spilling.
  2. Violette’s Creative Juice – I just love Violette’s work, her blog is open and honest and she isn’t afraid to encourage others by being vulnerable – I love her honesty.  She also has a terrific book, Journal Bliss, and a YouTube Channel .  She’s branching out and working with teens so check her site Purple Juice out if you haven’t already.
  3. Leslie Herger at the Comfortable Shoes Studio – her automatic drawing are truly incredible!
  4. Milliande – oh!  Her videos are amazing and her website a meeting place for 100s of artists – amazing!
  5. Lynette Collis’ blog All of Me is lovely – and she lives not to far from me!
  6. Tammy Garcia over at Daisy Yellow is a definite favourite – I love her colour!
  7. Traci Bunkers – does everyone know about Traci and her stamps?   Wonderful!  I love her work.
  8. 8 That Create is a bonus blog!  8 wonderful artists who have their own blogs but collaborate on this one. I guess it would be cheating to name each one as one of my 15, but please check them out individually.
  9. And Ricë Freeman Zachary – love her books, love her rants, love her re-styled clothes.
  10. Leslie Avon Miller’s blog textures shapes and color is one I have just discovered and likely to visit often.
  11. How can a list of favourites be complete without Traci Bautista’s  blog creativity UNLEASHED
  12. As far as non-art sites is concerned, I’m rather fond of checking in on Zen Habits.  Leo Babauta has some good thoughts based on his own experiences in beating bad habits.
  13. I drop in on Mystele at little glimpses studio for a fix of her painting – nice videos here.
  14. And Journal Artista – terrific!  Love her U Stream events too.
  15. Another new blog I’ve bookmarked is Mundo Lindo – Beautiful World.  This is kid’s art – a group started by the wonderful Jane La Fazio, it’s a free weekly 2-hour after-school art class for fourth and fifth grade children in the low-income population of Escondido [San Diego North].  Inspirational

I think I got more than 15 in there but I could go on and list so many wonderful blogs.

Now 7 things about me.

  1. For nomination number 10 it was unbelievably difficult for me to spell colour without a U.
  2. I can be somewhat rebellious – stroppy is the appropriate descriptor I think.
  3. I had a motorbike license before I learned to drive a car.
  4. A dawn ride in a hot-air balloon over Cappadocia is one of the most amazing experiences I’ve had – and I’ve had quite a few!
  5. I love driving off on a holiday in the early hours of dawn while the rest of the city sleeps.
  6. I drink my morning coffee strong, black and unsweetened.
  7. I never thought I’d enjoy quilting as much as I do.

So that’s it – I guess I need to let all those people know they’ve been nominated just in case they miss this post!

7 thoughts on “an award!

  1. First of all, you are ROCKIN’ it! You have such a clear and original voice already and I was expecting that from your comments on my blog! Thanks Wendy for the nomination. This will be such fun. PS: Quinn is a wonder, isn’t she? I have some hopping to do as some of the bloggers are unfamiliar to me!

  2. I love how you are not discovering but INVENTING your own path! I liked your comment about liking quilting, it is surprisingly addictive with all of that pattern and color. A great list, off to explore.

  3. Congrats on the nonimations! You’re such an inspiration! Thank you for sharing. I’m going to check out the other blogs you have listed.

  4. Thank you so much Wendy for the great honour and for your friendship. I will see if i have time to play!! I’m kind of overwhelmed with a number of different projects right now….but will see if i can do it later this coming week.

    Thanks again for the nomination!
    Love, Violette

Leave a Reply

