A beginning . . .

I have always liked beginnings – driving out of a city in the dawn with just the open road ahead of me.  But a blog?  What do I have to share that anyone else might be interested in?  Sometimes nothing, and at other time, maybe what I write will resonate with you and you’ll have a small ah-ha moment or even a BFO, a Blinding Flash of the Obvious.

When I was first considering setting up a blog of my own, I was somewhat overwhelmed by what I saw others producing.  Would I be able to do it?  Did I have anything to say?  Would I keep it up?  Would I be able to produce content that would appeal?  When I read on Daisy Yellow, Tammy’s quote “you don’t have to catch up, you just have to begin” I realised I’d never be able to answer my questions until I did.   Resist the critic, embrace the muse!

What I do in the Late Start Studio is ponder life and muck around . . . please join me as I begin.

17 thoughts on “A beginning . . .

  1. Yeah! So glad that you are jumping in the pool. Sometimes it is best not to think too hard. I always enjoy your comments on my blog, Wendy. I look forward to reading what you have to say here!

  2. Wendy, I’m so happy to see your blog come to life! You have been so kind and supportive of my blog. My favorite way to learn anything is to have a project and figure it out as I go. And so I wish you a wonderful, wacky voyage!

    • There has been so much for me in so many ways in your blog, especially the quote . . . it took a little while to get this started but here we go on a wonderful ride.

  3. I love the title of your blog and I think you should get a lot of interested readers. So many people (me included) get put off by others seemingly been ahead of them, so much so that they don’t begin.

  4. Hi from Oz, Wendy! CONGRATULATIONS on establishing Late Start Studio. I was reading a book yesterday which included some comments about pilgrimages – and how, even though people set out with the idea that it’s about ‘getting to a sacred place’ like Lourdes/ Mecca or ‘completing a particular journey’ like the Camino, when they ‘arrive’ or ‘finish’, they all end up feeling that, actually ‘arriving’ isn’t the most significant part of their experience, that the WHOLE journey from the first step has been the actual ‘pilgrimage’. It’s the journey that counts. And we’re all looking forward to sharing the journey with you! 🙂

  5. Hi Wendy,

    Wow, I also started a blog recently after having failed many times at blogs about my own life. You must be doing something right because it looks like you already have a huge following. Good for you!!! I decided to blog more about all the creative things I love to do and about design, lifestyle and fashion I enjoy. It is working very well so far. Although I have very few readers I love sharing the things I find and hopefully it will become as strong as your blog is. I love the papers you made with the driftwood, it is very creative and I would love to see what a pumice stone carving looks like. Keep up the good work.

    Hugs from Africa
    Willow

Leave a Reply

